Meet our team

Camp Fire Leadership

Katy Mendez 


Director of Programs

Katy Mendez is an educator and outdoor enthusiast. She earned her bachelors degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio in Interdisciplinary Studies. She has a passion for working with kids of all different ages and backgrounds. She has worked in the education field for 17 years starting with after school programs at 18. She worked for AISD for a few years helping resource students. She enjoys community engagement and working with a variety of programs to get kids engaged in nature. Her love for the outdoors started when she would go hiking and camping in college. She loves to go out West. She has camped in multiple National Forests in New Mexico and all over Texas. Her favorite park in Texas is Big Bend National Park. " There is a sort of magic that you only can get out West." She is a native Texan and resides in Bastrop, Texas with her partner Andrea and their two dogs. When not working she enjoys kayaking, cooking, camping, rock collecting, hiking, and birding. 

Camp Fire Board of Directors

Dawn Evans, Owner of Synergy Skin Care Spa

Shannon Chandler, Coyote Logistics

Carah-Beth Bass, Allison, Bass and Magee, LLC

Debbie Zabica, American Red Cross

Nicole Renaux, Pioneer Wealth Management Group